Cutting down on wheat consumption

I've been hearing a lot of stuff on WHEAT.  I've read too many articles on both side of the fence and frankly, it's too much to process.  Everyone claimed to be an expert on the subject, so who do you trust ?  There're all kinds of articles on the good, the bad, and the ugly of it.  I am so confuse !!!  Am I the only one ?  I've been following all the trends :)  flax, hemp, kale, chia, quinoa, coconut oil, to name a few.  And I'm still using them along with my organic findings.  To be honest, I feel no where better from where I was before.  I feel the same :-(
 
 
 
In my opinion, I think it doesn't hurt to cut down on the consumption of wheat.  Everything in "moderation" is key !  We consume a lot of organic wheat (apparently even organic isn't good).  We love waffle and bread around here.  While our family has no allergies or any illness, I like to take the precautionary route, if anything, it's only good for us. 

In order to cut down on wheat, I have to educate myself on what food they hide in and what name they go by !  Here's a list of names for wheat and the types of food they live in.  I'm sure this is just a short menu of it, but it's a good start for me.  Wish we luck !

Excerpt from About.com / Food Allergies / Foods to Avoid on a Wheat-Free Diet

Other names for wheat
  • Bulgur (bulghar)
  • Durum, durum flour, durum wheat
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Enriched, white and whole-wheat flour
  • Farina
  • Flour (all-purpose, cake, enriched, graham, high protein or high gluten, pastry)
  • Farro
  • Fu
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Sprouted wheat
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Triticum aestivum
  • Wheat (bran, germ, gluten, grass, malt, starch)
  • Wheat berries
  • Wheatgrass

Ingredients that may be derived from wheat

Avoid foods containing these ingredients unless the label states they are not made from wheat.
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Modified food starch
  • Vegetable starch or vegetable protein
  • Gelatinized starch
  • Natural flavoring
Foods that often contain wheat
  • Baked goods such as pastries, doughnuts, pies, pretzels
  • Baking mixes, powder and flour
  • Beer
  • Bread or bread crumbs
  • Cereal
  • Chicken and beef broth (cans and bouillon cubes)
  • Condiments, salad dressings, and sauces
  • Crackers
  • Deli meats
  • Falafel
  • Fried, breaded chicken, fish, or other deep-fried foods
  • Gravies
  • Host (communion, altar bread and wafers)
  • Hot dogs
  • Ice cream
  • Imitation bacon
  • Meatballs or meat loaf
  • Panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
  • Pasta, including couscous, gnocchi, spaetzle, chow mein, lo mein, and filled pastas
  • Pie fillings and puddings
  • Sausages
  • Soups
  • Soy sauce or tamari (unless gluten-free)
  • Tabbouleh
  • Tempura
Non-food sources of wheat
  • Cosmetics and hair-care products
  • Medications and vitamins
  • Children’s play dough
  • Pet food
  • Wallpaper paste or glue
Foods That Are (Surprisingly) Wheat-Free
  • Buckwheat
  • Kasha